

European Court of Human Rights elects Vice-President and Section President

The European Court of Human Rights has elected a new Vice-President –Josep **Casadevall** (Andorra) – and elected a new Section President – Lech **Garlicki** (Poland).

They have all been elected for a three-year term and will take up their respective duties on 4 November 2011.

The Court is composed of one judge in respect of each of the 47 States to have ratified the European Convention on Human Rights. Judges work in five Sections from which Chambers of seven judges are constituted. The Court also sits as a Grand Chamber of 17 judges. The Court has two Vice-Presidents both of whom also preside over Sections, the other three Sections each having a Section President.

Judge's CVs (Court's Internet site)

Judge Casadevall: (<u>click here</u>)

Judge Garlicki: (<u>click here</u>)

This press release is a document produced by the Registry. It does not bind the Court. Decisions, judgments and further information about the Court can be found on its <u>Internet site</u>. To receive the Court's press releases, please subscribe to the <u>Court's RSS</u> feeds.

Press contacts echrpress@echr.coe.int | tel: +33 3 90 21 42 08

Denis Lambert (tel: + 33 3 90 21 41 09) Emma Hellyer (tel: + 33 3 90 21 42 15) Tracey Turner-Tretz (tel: + 33 3 88 41 35 30) Kristina Pencheva-Malinowski (tel: + 33 3 88 41 35 70) Nina Salomon (tel: + 33 3 90 21 49 79)

The European Court of Human Rights was set up in Strasbourg by the Council of Europe Member States in 1959 to deal with alleged violations of the 1950 European Convention on Human Rights.

